A+ A- A

Learning Areas

The Alice Springs (Mparntwe) Education Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians (December 2019) identifies two goals of schooling for all students  


Goal 1

The Australian system promotes excellence and equity

Goal 2

All young Australians become confident and creative individuals, successful lifelong learners, and active and informed members of the community

Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is responsible for the development of the Australian curriculum from Foundation (Prep) to Year 12. 

See here for further information:  www.acara.edu.au

Learning Areas Information (P-10)


The Religion Curriculum is a particular area of learning within the school curriculum. This learning area explores the knowledge, attitudes and values, skills and behaviours necessary for thinking critically and acting responsibility in the light of the Catholic interpretation of reality. The Religion Curriculum is designed in a sequential way that is sensitive to the learning needs of students.


In English students develop the capacity to speak, listen, read, view, write and shape texts to make meaning with purpose, effect and confidence in a diverse range of contexts.


Learning mathematics provides students with essential mathematical skills & knowledge skills and knowledge in Number & Algebra, Measurement & Geometry, and Statistics & Probability. Students explore this context through the proficiencies of Fluency, Understanding, Problem Solving and Reasoning.


Studying science helps students understand the nature of the world around them and their place in that world. It engages students in distinctive ways of thinking about and explaining events and phenomena.

Humanities and Social Sciences

Humanities and Social Sciences include the subject areas of; history, geography, business, economics and civics and citizenship. Students study human behaviour  and interaction within political, cultural, social, environmental and economic contexts.

Health and Physical Education

The Health and Physical Education learning area offers students opportunities to make informed decisions about the health of individuals and communities; develop concepts and skills for physical activity; and enhance personal development.


In Design Technologies students learn to develop and apply knowledge, process and production skills to design, produce and evaluate solutions using traditional, contemporary and emerging technologies  for real world needs, opportunities, end users, clients or consumers in a range of contexts.

In Digital Technologies students learn to develop and apply technical knowledge, processes and production skills, including algorithmic logic and abstraction, to transform data into informational solutions for real world needs, opportunities, end users, clients or consumers in a range of contexts.

The Arts

Through the five disciplines of The Arts (Dance, Drama, Media, Music and Visual Art) students develop, share and pass on understandings of themselves, their histories, and their culture.


Learning a language provides opportunities for students to access other people's ways of thinking, inspires interest and respect for other cultures, and develops an array of transferable skills. 

Subjects (Years 11 – 12)

The Queensland Curriculum Assessment Authority develops, approves and revises syllabus for senior subjects.

See here for further information:

Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority (QCAA)